the greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

While we believe that our judgements are the best based on what we have been taught, values and ideas change throughout the time. In other words, not every value is permanently true. Thus, I generally agree with the statement that the greatness of individuals can be decided more likely by those who live after them because our values and standards change throughout the time and contemporaries may not be able to see the values of new approaches.

Admittedly, there are cases of great individuals whose achievements were already recognized when they were alive. For instance, there are many great writers that were already recognized for their achievements by their contemporaries. Fyodor Dostoevsky was one of the greatest writers and philosophers of all time. While we still consider him a great mind from the 20th century, his works already received a lot of attention when he lived and Tsar of Russia even called Dostoevsky to tutor his children based on Dostoevsky’s fame. Albert Camus is another example. As we still consider him a great writer, he already was a Nobel laureate when he was young.

However, values and ideas change. Not in all cases, our judgment on what is great and what is mediocre stays the same as it did for Dostoevsky and Camus. Sometimes, formerly great achievements become mediocre and barbaric while formerly mediocre work becomes excellen as our perception changes. It is often difficult to find a new and innovative work great because we are not used to the new way of thinking and viewing. Edouard Manet’s career as a painter substantiates it. In the 19th century, success for young French artists was only allowed through the official Academy exhibition, known as Salons. At salons, conservative juries favored biblical themes and a polished technique. This atmosphere outcasted all the young artists with different styles of painting. When Manet submitted his work “Luncheon on the Grass” to the Salons, it was immediately rejected because his work did not fit to the existing conventions. He painted the nude female surrounded by men and reinforced artificial studio light only on the female. During his time, his art was obviously considered mediocre and immature. However, now we consider him a pivotal figure in the transition from Impressionism to Realism. From our perspective, his once mediocre artwork broke away from the classical view that arts should obey established conventions and opened a new paradigm for Impressionists, such as Claude Monet. This example illustrates how once mediocre work can be great in the future because our tradition and values change as well. While his contemporaries could not immediately recognize the value of his work, people in different eras find his work innovating and groundbreaking.

In conclusion, I agree with the author’s claim that the greatness of individuals cannot be decided by their contemporaries but more often by those who live after them. We may not see the true value of individuals because we may find a new and innovative work odd or mediocre as we are not used to it.