The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Because of its spectacular natural beauty and consistent climate, Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire. As a bonus, housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and real estate taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Nevertheless, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. Retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

The author’s argument that Clearville is the top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire is flawed for various reasons. The author not only draws a strong conclusion without analysing the reason for the fall of house costs, but also bases his conclusion on various vague and unwarranted statements. Furthermore, the author does not consider the demand for the healthcare but only considers the large number of physicians to conclude that Clearville is the top choice which is flawed.

First, the author does not analyse the reason for the fall of house costs while concluding that Clearville is the top choice. The underlying assumption is that the reason would not provide any extra information in analysing the situation which is incorrect. For example, if the house costs have dropped because of the increase in the crime rate, it is incorrect to conclude that Clearville is the top choice for retirement because the retiring people would not prefer a city with higher crime rate. If the author had provided any information on the reason for the fall of house costs, it would have been easy to conclude whether Clearville is the best choice.

Second, the author bases his conclusion on various vague and unwarranted statements. The author describes the spectacular natural beauty and consistent climate of Clearville without comparing them with that of other places which plays a key role in deciding if the Clearville is the best choice. The assumption is that comparision would not provide any valuable information in concluding which is wrong. For example, if there are many other places with better climate and beauty, the author’s conclusion that Clearville is the best choice available is flawed. Also, when quoting the real estate taxes are lower than that of neighboring towns, the author does not provide any information on the comparision of all the taxes of Clearville with the neighboring towns and also he restricts his comparision to the neighboring towns which is incorrect. The assumption here is that real estate taxes are the only measure of comparing taxes and the comparision can be restricted to neighboring towns. The assumption is unwarranted because the author does not provide any information that can support that only real estate taxes are the only measure of comparing taxes and the neighboring towns would provide the sample of towns that represent the whole list of seeking places for retirement. If the author had provided any information regarding the sample of towns, the overall taxes comparision and comparative measure of climate and natural beauty, it would have been easy make a firm conclusion that Clearville is the best choice for retirement.

Third, the conclusion is based on the perception that health care is better in Clearville because the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average without considering the demand for the same. While doing so, the author does not provide any information on the demand for the health care. The assumption here is that the demand does not provide any role while concluding which is flawed. For example, if the demand for the health care is higher in Clearville, although the supply is greater than the national average, it is challenging to conclude that Clear ville has excellent health care facilities. Because the author does not provide any information on the demand of the healthcare, it is difficult to conclude that large supply of health care can be helpful in justifying the author’s conclusion.

In conclusion, Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, the author fails to make a convincing case that Clearville is the top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire is flawed for various reasons.