If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

The issue that if a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable is a contentious one. Any means to achieve include the illegal ways which can be used to achieve goals. While taking legal and ethical means are justifiable, I believe that it is not always justifiable to take any means for attaining a goal because taking illegal means would be unjustifiable, unethical and inefficient.

First, if we take illegal means to achieve a goal, the achievement is not permanent. Because we achieved something which we do not possess, we are not capable of maintaining it with us. For example, if we cheat and win the semi-final chess competition, we would not be able to cheat every match and win the finals because we do not have the skill to win the chess competition. Also, it is unethical to use illegal means for achieving what we want. The life of a person who considers cheating is immoral will be different from someone who considers it unethical which in turn has a significant effect on the society. Hence, taking illegal ways to achieve a goal is unethical and unworthy.

Second, Because of achieving a goal by illegal means, the efficiency would be stemmed. If someone follows unfair means, the rightful owner of the achievement would be deprived of it which would have detrimental effects. For example, if a criminal becomes the president of a country by following unfair means, the nation would not develop because of the illegal ways which would be adopted by the president. Instead, if the rightful and eligible person becomes the president, the nation’s development would be skyrocketed. Therefore, taking illegal means to achieve a goal is unworthy for the effective development of everyone.

On the other hand, taking illegal means can be justifiable in situations of life and death and in unavoidable situations. For example, In a situation where a person is taking a patient to the hospital, it is justifiable to violate traffic rules and regulations because the life a person is always valuable than the formal rules and regulations. One more example would be in situations like war, winning the war by any means would be justifiable because losing the war can have hazardous effects on the people. So, in situations of like these, I think it is justifiable to take any means to achieve the goal because it is worth it.

In conclusion, while taking legal and ethical methods are justifiable, illegal means would be justifiable only in unavoidable situations and situations of life and death. However, in the real world, as there is no perfect rule that can distinguish whether a goal is worthy of taking any means, it is difficult to conclude that if a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.