Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.’

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author’s argument that Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors to enable its graduates to secure better jobs is flawed for various reasons. The author not only draws a strong conclusion based on vague and unwarranted statements, but also relies on a sample of employers beliefs. Furthermore, the author does not try to analyse the real reason for the failure of Omega graduates in getting jobs, but instead concludes that the student evaluation is the reason for failure which is incorrect.

First, the author concludes firmly based on vague and unwarranted statements which are incorrect. For example, the author does not define the meaning of potential employers in the context of recruiting the graduates. If the potential employers mean high paying employers who hire only one or two graduates, it would not be wise to change the student evaluation policy based on their beliefs, and it would not impact the number of graduates who can get jobs. If the potential employers mean the employers who recruit almost half of the graduates from Omega University, it might be helpful in changing the Omega University policies. If the author had mentioned the meaning of potential employers, it would be easy to conclude that Omega University can ameliorate the situation by removing the student evaluation policy.

Second, the author concludes that all the employers are having the same belief that the grades of Omega University are inflated based on the sample of employers he considers. The underlying assumption is that the sample of employers represents all the employers of the graduates from Omega University which is unwarranted. The assumption is flawed because the author does not cite how he considered the sample of employers and how this sample of employers represents all the employers. For example, if the sample of employers has the belief of inflated grades who constitute only 1 percent of all the employers, it is unwise to conclude that all the employers have the same belief and changing the policy of student evaluation will change their opinion. Because the author does not provide information on how he chose the sample of employers, it is impossible to conclude based on the sample of employers.

Third, the author does not try to evaluate the real reason for the failure of Omega University graduates in securing jobs, but instead concludes that the student evaluation of professors has caused the inflation of grades which in turn caused the failure which is unwarranted. The conclusion is invalid because the author does not provide any information which supports that student evaluation of professors is the reason for the failure of Omega university graduates. The underlying assumption is that the real reason would not provide any extra information in analysing the situation which is incorrect. For example, if the reason for the failure is because of the degraded quality of education in Omega University or the recession in job opportunities which are not related to the student evaluation policy, it is not correct to conclude that removing the student evaluation policy would ameliorate the situation. If the author had analysed the real reason for the drop in recruitments of Omega University graduates, it would have been easy to conclude whether removing the student evaluation policy would make any change in the recruitments of Omega University graduates.

In conclusion, Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, the author fails to make a convincing case that Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors to enable its graduates to secure better jobs is flawed for various reasons.