Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents.

The issue that society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents is a contentious one. If a society can choose and train children in their field of proficiency, they would be very helpful for the betterment of the society, and they can also start contributing to the society before many people in the field. While each side has its strengths and weaknesses, I believe that it might be difficult to identify children who have special talents and if we can find students who have them, it would be inflexible to enforce a single training on them.

First, there is no perfect way that can be used to identify children who have special talents. For example, if a child is good in lifting weights, it would not mean he would be the best weight lifter in future. Also, there is no guarantee that the child of a great scientist would become equally great in future if we can choose the children of celebritries as the children who have special talents. So, there is no perfect way to choose specially talented children which makes it challenging to give training and expect them to do great in their life.

Second, if we provide a single training to the children right from their young age, this would be restraining them from exploring other fields. We can not assume the real talent of a child because of his performance in one field. For example, if a child performs better in weight lifting and the society starts to give him the training of weight lifting leaving all other sports, it would be restricting him to explore his options. If the child has his real talent in cricket, we would be losing an excellent cricket player because he exhibited his talent in weight lifting initially. Also, if a child can perform best in more than one field, giving training of only one field is a disadvantage to the society because the child is not able to perform well in his fields of expertise. Hence, instead of enforcing a single training, a student should be given the liberty of exploring his fields which would be in turn beneficial to the society.

Third, providing training in one field leaving other fields can be stemming. For example, because the child is talented in science, he can not neglect the importance of studying arts. By studying arts, the student can improve creativity which would be very helpful in innovating something in science. To cite an example, the researcher who solved the np-hard problem of random walk is a professor in electrical and related the way current flows to the random walk problem which helped him in getting a patent. Hence, we can not neglect some field over another because the child is performing well in one.

If we assume that the society can identify the children who have special talents, it would be beneficial to give them training right from a young age. Because the child need not waste his time in learning other fields which might not be helpful for him, he can concentrate and train himself to be the best in his field of expertise. If the child is given training right from his young age, he can be more productive, and he can also start contributing before many people in the field which would benefit the society enormously. For example, if the child is talented in space research, he need not be trained in cricket, he can instead spend more time strengthening his research skills which will be very helpful in future. However, because there is no perfect way to identify children who have special talents, it might not be beneficial to provide training of only the fields of expertise to them.