It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

The issue that it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero is a contentious one. While each side has its strengths and weaknesses, I believe we can not conclude that it is easy for anyone who is dead or alive to be a hero because of the limited availability of history, relative detrimental effects after a sacrifice, no one is perfect and neutral always.

First, no one is perfect, and if we consider someone as a hero, he may become overconfident and commit mistakes. If a nation considers someone as a hero, he may be overconfident in his life, and any small mistake he does in his life will be showcased in social media leading to the controversy of he being the hero. For example, if a nation praises a scientist as a hero for his recent discovery that can cure aids, social media will show even his traffic regulation mistakes as a big mistake to get their TRP rating. This would result in the degradation of his image as a hero. So, I think because no one is perfect, we can not regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Second, who is a hero? A hero is someone who thinks about his fellow beings before himself. Because it is challenging to be dispassionate in every situation, I believe it is difficult for a living man or woman to be a hero. For example, if there is a situation where his family is in a difficult situation, a hero can consider his family’s benefit before anyone, and it is justifiable. Although he is neutral in 80 percent of the time, we can not conclude that he is a hero because of the remaining 20 percent. As it is always difficult to give an unbiased opinion about everything, I believe it is impossible for a living man or woman to be a hero.

On the other hand, someone can argue that a dead man can be a hero. This statement is flawed because although we have all the information from the history that can confirm that his opinions were mainly based on the society and not on his surroundings, we can not conclude that the media can not find a piece of information in the future that can degrade his image as a hero. As we do not have complete information on anyone from the history because we depend entirely on the history books, we can not conclude that it is easy for someone who is dead to be a hero. I think it may be easy, but we can not be sure that the image will be permanent.

Also, someone might argue that if someone has sacrificed his life for the society, we can consider him as a hero. This point is unwarranted because the perspective with which someone looks at the sacrifice is relative. For example, if there is a suicide bomber in a war who is the reason for the killing of armies on both the sides, we can look at the sacrifice as a positive one because the war has ended and there are no more dangerous effects on one kingdom. On the other side, there could have been as a peaceful solution for the war which could have saved thousands of lives of soldiers. From one view, although it may seem to be heroic, we can not rule out the other side of the view that his sacrifice is detrimental. Therefore, we can not conclude that it is possible or easy for someone who has sacrificed himself to be a hero.

In conclusion, as no one is perfect, and no one who can be neutral always, I think it is not possible for a living man or woman to be a hero. Also, as there is a limited availability of history, relative detrimental effects after a sacrifice, I think we can not conclude that it is easy for the dead to be a hero.