"Schools should be responsible only for teaching academic skills and not for teaching ethical and social values."

school is that period in the life of any human where academic skills as well as ethical and social values take birth. The behavior and manners take birth during this innocent yet productive young age. students are like clay. they will mold themselves according to their milieu. Some of these extra skills are speaking, listening, seemly behavior etc among others. so, I disagree with the author's claim: schools should teach only academic skills and not ethical or social ones.

every human builds their core values during childhood as this is the crucial period in anybody's life. being young and full of energy, children readily accept any information passed their way. As responsible parents and teachers it would be unwise to remove courses relevant to soft skills. For students, every other experience is new and exciting as this is the correct time for being curious and ferret answers to problems.

The skills other than academics called soft skills because they teach a person to become considerate, passionate, humble and respect others around them. Be it a restaurant, college, park, movie theatre or the beach, speaking skills will get you into a merry conversation with anyone. these skills are necessary in the future when students graduate to college or start their careers. Teamwork , leadership, planning, communication are few of the myriad soft skills absolutely mandatory so that they are able to stand out in the crowd. Such skills will also help relationships improve better. I agree that academics will definitely aid you in your career, but soft skills will help you sustain the job.

In fact, schools are responsible for creating a better human being. If such as, you were an interviewer at a tech company, who would you hire: a person with great technical knowledge but lacking in manners and communication skills or a person with an average technical knowledge but a better overall human altogether. Most surely the answer would be b. the better softer person. The niche skills could be taught at training but the soft skills get ingrained at a young age. Thus schools come into picture. making them a critical source of the so-called 'extra' knowledge which is significant for the future.

I would like to recapitulate that the author is not justified in making the claim that academic skills are the sole subjects to teach in schools. Rather a proper balance of both academic and ethical and social skills should be preached.