schools should be responsbile only for teaching academic skills and not for teaching ethical and social values

The issue of whether or not schools should be responsible for teaching ethical and social values is a contentious one. While each side has its strengths and weaknesses, I believe that schools should be responsible for teaching ethical and social values, because the primary role of school is to prepare students for adult life. Furthermore, schools are best equipped to teach values, and many values can be presented in a neutral, open-ended manner.

First, schools have a clear mandate to prepare students for adult life. In school, students learn how to read, write and perform arithmetic, because these are vital skills for functioning as an adult. Likewise, students study history so that they can learn from the past and participate in society. Values are just as important, since they will ultimately have a significant effect on one’s adult life and on society in general. For example, someone who regards stealing as acceptable will have a much different life frmo someone who regards stealing as unacceptable. Moreover, one’s values regarding stealing will greatly affect society. So, given the importance of values, schools have a responsibility to teach them.

Some may argue that if schools were responsilbe for teaching values, then some teachers would impose their own beliefs on students. This point is flawed, since teachers can always impose thier values regardless of whether or not schools are responsible for teaching values. Moreover, if teaching values became the domain of schools, then a formal curriculum would help prevent teachers from imposing their values, since teachers would then be given clear guidelines regarding the ways in which values must be taught.

In conclusion, schools have an obligation to prepare students for adult life, they are best equipped to teach values, and they can present values in a neutral, all-inclusive manner. For these reasons, schools have a responsibility to teach them.