Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

The issue that critical judgement of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from an expert is a contentious one. Someone can say that the judgement of a neophyte of the field is not valuable because the neophyte does not have complete knowledge of the field. While each side has its strengths and weaknesses, I believe that an expert judgement of a work is not required in all the fields because some fields do not require complete knowledge while evaluating.

First, if a neophyte certifies a work, the judgement might not be entirely correct. As an amateur is not completely aware of the field, he may not consider all the possibilities while judging a particular work which can result in a wrong judgement. For example, if an amateur is reviewing a research work in space science, he may not consider the possibility of assumptions being wrong. Because he does not question the assumptions, he may certify the research as a valid although the assumptions are wrong in the first place. Hence, I think that an expert judgement of a work is the valid one.

On the other hand, someone can argue that even experts make mistakes. Because of the limited time available to evaluate the work or because of the silly mistakes, an expert can be wrong sometimes which can happen one time out of a thousand reviews. For example, if an expert is given a short period of time to evaluate a work, he may not have time to consider all the possibilities and his review can be wrong. However, because of the low probability of experts being wrong, I believe we can not conclude that the judgement given by a neophyte has a higher value than that of a review given by an expert in the field.

Someone can argue that not all the fields require experts to review a work. In the fields which does not require extensive knowledge while evaluating a work, I think a neophyte can assess the work in the field. For example, in a field like weight lifting where the work of confirming whether the weight lifted is an excellent achievement or not can also be done by a neophyte. If a person lifts 200 kgs weight, it is an achievement even if a neophyte can certify it. Hence, I think there are few fields which do not require extensive knowledge of the field while evaluating a work and this evaluation need not come from an expert.

In conclusion, because an expert can consider all the possibilities while evaluating, it would make more sense to get an expert review of a work. However, as there are few fields which does not require an expert knowledge of a field while judging a work, I think that not all fields need an expert judgement of a work.