The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author’s argument that low expenditures on fitness-related products and services is the cause for the decrease in the fitness of the corpora’s citizens and fitness levels will improve when the econcomy does is flawed for various reasons. In the argument, the author not only compares unrelated statements, but also draws a strong conclusion based on vague and unwarranted statements.

First, the author concludes that the low expenditures on fitness-related products and services is the cause for the decrease in the fitness of the corpora’s citizens without analysing the real reason for the drop. The assumption is that the real reason for the drop would not provide any information in analysing the situation which is incorrect. For example, if the reason for the drop is not related to the low expenditures on fitness-related products and services and it is due to a wide spread epidemic disease in the town, it is incorrect to conclude that the fitness levels of the citizens is directly related to the economic conditions and the fitness level will improve when the econcomy does. because the author does not provide any information which can confirm direct relation between the economic conditions and the fitness level, the author’s conclusion is invalid.

Second, the author concludes that spending too much time using computers does not cause any decline in fitness without any justification. This is a typical flaw of correlation is not causation. because the overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is incorrect to conclude that computers has not made citizens less physically fit. The assumption here is that higher fitness levels imply computers does not cause any decline to fitnes which is unjustified. For example, if the higher fitness levels are due to higher nutrition levels in their diet and not related to computers, it in not justified to conclude that computers does not pose any danger to the fitness. if the author had provided any information that can related computers to the fitness, it would be easy to conclude their relation to the fitness.

Third, the author draws a firm conclusion based on vague statements which is incorrect. while quoting the low expenditures of citizens on fitness-related products and services, the author does not statistically define the term low. For example, if the low expenditure means only a drop of one percent, it is unwise to conclude that the one percent decrease in expeditures on fitness-related products and services has caused about 25 percent decrease in the fitness level of the citizens. if the author had provided the exact statistical decrease in the expenditure of citizens on fitness, it would have been easy to justify the author’s firm conclusion.

Fourth, the author compares the present fitness data with the fitness data of 20 years ago which is irrelevant. The assumption is that the present fitness levels should be comparable to that of 20 years ago which is incorrect. For example, if the fitness levels of the citizens have decreased naturally over the period of time, it is unjustified to conclude that the present decline in the economy is the reason for the decrease in the fitness compared to that of 20 years ago. while comparing both the fitness datas, because the author does not provide any information on their relevance, it is unjustified to draw a conclusion out of the comparison

In conclusion, because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, the author fails to make a convincing case that low expenditures on fitness-related products and services is the cause for the decrease in the fitness of the corpora’s citizens and fitness levels will improve when the econcomy does.