Five years ago, the local university built two new dormitories through different contractors: Aleph Construction and Gimmel Builders. The buildings were nearly identical, though it cost Gimmel Builders approximately 20 percent more to construct their dormitory. Aleph’s dormitory, however, has required approximately 10 percent more in maintenance costs per year over the past five years. Therefore, to construct their new dormitory with the lowest overall cost, the local university should hire Aleph Construction.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions in the expert’s claim. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author concludes that the university should hire Aleph Construction to build their new dormitory in order to have lowest cost. To bolster this suggestion, the author point out that five years ago, Aleph Construction built a dormitory similar to that constructed by another contractor with fewer budgets. Although this statement seems plausible, it is not convincing enough as it stands since it falsely rests on several assumptions without proper justification.

First of all, the author fails to consider if there is a better option other than choosing between the two mentioned contractors. By concluding that the school should choose Aleph Construction since it cost less for them to build the dormitory, the author implies that there is no other company competing for the task. However, there is no evidence stated in the argument that supports this assumption. In fact, it is not necessarily the case. It is entirely possible that there are many other construction companies who can take this task with lower cost. It is also possible that it may be more cost-saving to let Aleph Construction and Gimmel Builder cooperate as long as they both happy with this decision. Therefore, the credibility of this suggestion is not well established without considering and ruling out all the possible alternative options.

In addition, the author commits a logical fallacy by falsely assuming that what happened 5 years ago will surely be repeated again now without considering all the possible variables. For example, perhaps the Gimmel Builder has grown much bigger than Aleph Construction and is able to offer a better bid since it purchases the construction materials in a bigger amount and cheaper price. Thus, the author should not assume that it would be cheaper to choose Aleph Construction for sure.

In conclusion, we cannot fairly evaluate this recommendation since there are still many critical points open to doubt. Unless more information can be provided that shows there is no better candidate for the new construction, and that in long-term the overall cost for Aleph Construction’s building is cheaper than that built by Gimmel Builder, we cannot come to the conclusion that it is better to choose Aleph Construction. Furthermore, the author should also prove that Aleph Construction is willing to do the task for the same price and that the current satisfying result can be recreated again.