A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

While it might ultimately be the case that regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay, we cannot conclude this from the argument as it stands now. The author overlooks numerous factors that might lead to the same fact that children living in Himalayan mountain region have lower levels of tooth decay then children living in suburban areas in the United States.

Primarily, the author ignores the possibilities that the difference in diet can influence a lot on children's dental health. There is no evidence provided in the argument that proves the diet is not the reason for the difference in levels of tooth decay. In fact, it is possible that children in Nepal do not have as much sweet stuff such as candies, ice creams, cakes and chocolates in their diet, while American children have a bunch of them. I this is the case, one of the alternative explanation could be that the modern sweet snacks make children's teeth less heath regardless of the professional dental care.

In addition, the author should also investigate that if people in Nepal have some traditional method to protect their teeth. Although people in the Himalayan mountain region receive little modern dental care, it might be the case that, throughout the development in history, their society has invented some special way such as using herbs to keep their teeth clean and healthy. As a consequence another explanation for the given fact could be that traditional dental care of Nepal is useful for preventing tooth decay.

Finally,the author fails to take into account that DNA plays an important role in human health. Even if the diet do not have impact on children's tooth and people in Nepal do not have other ways to protect teeth, we still do not know if the difference in DNA influence people's teeth health. It is possible that children in Nepal have some good DNA that makes their teeth stronger than children in other places. Thus, without considering and ruling out all of these and other possibilities, the credibility of the explanation is still open to doubt.

Clearly, then we need to have additional information in order to get more complete understanding of the strength and weakness of this explanation.