Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

When it comes to the complex problem that how to produce a moral society, some people claim that we should adopt morality lessons as the foundation of education, while others may claim that logical reasoning is more important for people to behave morally. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the first argument more for the following reasons.

First of all, every logical reasoning that will lead to decent manner and correct decision is actually based on morality. Logical reasoning will have no use for a person who does not know what is right and what is wrong. Since if that person think killing people is a moral manner, he or she will feel no guilty and be as comfortable as any saint. Thus, it is critical that our education let people be fully aware of and truly understand the correct moral values.

Admittedly, logical reasoning is important for people to make correct judgment because sometimes moral issues are complicated. Take the story of Miserable World as an example. The main character was put in to jail for several years simply because he stole a bread for his starved nephew. In this case, although it cannot be denied that the leading character broke the law, yet the judge should apply his logical thinking skill and perceive the deep moral essence. Had the judge had accepted good logical reasoning education, he would have seen that the main character is actually very kind and would not give him such a heavy punishment. Although here logical reasoning is of great importance, we should not ignore that the judge still need the correct morality knowledge to come to this conclusion.

To sum up, despite I concede that logical reasoning is very crucial in understanding the true moral essence, morality is still the most foundational basis. Thus, education should take morality as its basic curriculum and also educate students reasoning skills to let them be able to extend the morality they learned to suit other circumstances they may face in the future.