Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Nowadays, there are many debates about how should a student choose his or her major. The statement proposes that schools should encourage students to choose the fields that will lead them to lucrative careers. I do not agree with this prompt statment for the following reasons.

Primarily, if students choose to study a subjet that they have no interest at all, it is painful for them to mastering these skills and even spend years working in this field. Since they have no passion and enthusiasm for the subject, it is less likely that they will work hard and persist when they encounter difficulties. Take my high school classmate, John, as an instance. Even though he does not like biology and medical prectices, John still went to medical school in university simply because being a doctor in Taiwan guarantees high social status and high salary. However, he eventually dropped out because he could not withstand feeling disgusted whenever he sees blood. In this case, we can see students are less likely to succeed if they study only for seeking a lucrative career.

Some people may argue that one of the main goal of education is to prepare students for their future career and it would be a waste if students cannot find a decent work in the job market. Admittdly, different countries and societies have different nature of job markets, and some jobs are really rare in certain countries. However, as technologies has make the "distance" of countries shorter and even became a global village, people is no longer contrained by the lack of chance in job market of their own country. My own experience can be a good showcase to illustrate this. I studied engineering in Hong Kong where the atmosphere of jab market favors business students much more. Yet, instead of giving up my major and seek a business occupation in Hong Kong, I successfully found an intership oppotunity in silicon valley which has abundant job openings for engineers. Thus, schools should not make students worry too much about seeking job.

In conclusion, although I concede that if the education of students can lead them to a decent job is an important concern, I do not think school should urge students to choose major only based on the avaliably of job. Instead, I think people should follow their interest. Since when people truly have passion for their study, they have the inherent motivation to overcome difficulties and eventually succeed.