Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

It is a common question among many generations and many people that what should we pursue in our life. Although many of us are told that we should listen to the true desire or interest and follow our dreams, it is still a heated debate that if some of our dream is really worth our time and youth. Some people argue that young people should think twice and only pick those worthy goals because many of those dreams are selfish. As far as I am concerned, I partially agree with this argument with the following reasons.

First of all, the most important factor I consider is that some dreams will let people lose connection with their families for a long time or even some of the dreams are highly risky. For example, many people like to pursue the excitement of extreme sports suck as skydiving or many people many wish to work in some dangerous area such as desert or in a war. While these dreams sounds very cool, people who participate these activities are risking their lives. These people's families and friends who love and care about them will be very worried.

Although I generally support the idea that people should not be selfish while pursuing their dreams, it cannot be denied that most of the dreams are not selfish at all, an we should not judge the value of them just by our own thoughts. Take some less popular subjects or profession as an example. Some people many think it is useless to pursue a philosophy degree or to be a farmer because it sounds like having a lower society status of it will not earn people a lot of money. However, we should not say these dreams are not worthy pursuing as long as people are happy and enjoying doing these.

In conclusion, I concede that the value of dreams cannot be fairly judged by a universal criteria and sometimes it is also hard to say if a dream is worthy or not. Nonetheless, we should also be aware that we at the same time carry many different roles in this society. We have parents and sometimes even a partner and children, and it is our responsibility to take them in to consideration before devoting ourselves into a dream.