Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

When it comes to how to improve the quality of teaching and enhance the ability of faculty, there are many different suggestions. Some people claim that schools should requre teachers to work outside the academic world, while other argue that schools should let teachers focus on academic stuff. While I tend to agree with the former statement more, I do admit that both the two statements have their points.

Primarily, oftentimes teachers who have worked outside academic world know more about the trend in industries and would adjust their teaching to be more practical and up-to-date. To illustrate this, the new cloud computing professor, Steven Chan, in my university could be a good instance. Professor Chan has worked in Google for several years before coming to our university. Because of his special background, his lecture is very different from other professors. While most of the professors are very pedantic and always require students to master some trivial equations or theories, Professor Chan always introduce cutting-edge technologies to us. Later, my internship experience in Cisoc proves what Professor Chan taught us are far more useful than those other professors focus on. In this case, adopting the policy suggested by the statement certainly favors students much.

Although having some working experience may improve the teaching of faculty, we should not ignore that it will cost these teachers a lot of time and effort. Take these factors in to account, adopting the proposed policy may cause some disadvantages. If professors need to care about their work outside the academic world, they may not be able to fully devote themselves to the research and teaching. In this case, professors may have less office hours, and students will have less chance to interact and learn from professors in person.

In conclusion, it is a tade-off to require teachers to work outside academic worlds. While the special experience may make the lecture of these teachers more practical and less pedentic, it would take teachers a lot of effort to do so.