School should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Schools play an immense role in a student's life. It helps shape their thoughts, encourages them to pursue goals and provides them with immense opportunities to advance their interests. However, schools do play a significant role in instilling students with values such as honesty, integrity and working in a cooperative environment. But can they do better? Extensive surveys spread across a large pool of adults have shown that schools were an integral part of their upbringing. The values they presented have stood the test of time and have proven beneficial in their life.

Working in a cooperative environment is a trait every adult should possess. Whether the adult is working in a large multinational corporation or academia, spreading thoughts constructively is required. Schools are a great place to learn these values. By encouraging group projects, student-committees (headed by students themselves), and sports participation schools can ensure that a student learns to thrive under competition and cooperate with others.

Handling stress and failure another important aspect of life. Schools should spread awareness about the symptoms of depression and anxiety. By conducting informative discussions, giving them real-life examples of innovators like Edison and Tesla, who had their ups and downs, schools can ensure that the students are well prepared for failures and that they will combat such instances with reason and a positive outlook.

A natural question arises is whether the parents should be the ones educating and reforming their children. While advantages to doing so are many, for example, parents know their children better than the school authorities and children are known to be greatly influenced by them. They also have more time to make such efforts. However, there are many examples wherein the incompetence of the parents has had a negative influence on their children. According to a recent survey, 30% of the families in The United States are battling with family issues. In such cases, it is more constructive for schools to shape children. Well defined curriculums can be framed to keep the teachers regulated and provide a structure to non-academic education.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that parents and schools should actively and constructively participate in shaping a child's future. After all, they are the pillars upon whom mankind will be dependent. Instilling positive thoughts in a child can go a long way in securing a better future.