Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the posit

The implementation of the policy about requirement of the faculty members to spend time outside the academic professions will definitely increase their teaching capability and scope along with hands on experience.

While college and university faculties spend a huge amount of time on analyzing the theoretical aspects of their teaching, they find a scarce time to spend where these theories are actually applied. But for their teaching to mean something they should spend enough time outside academic world, into the industrial sector where they can experience these theories being implemented. For example they can understand properly how these theories being used in practical scenario. Then they could explain the theories in question in a much better way.

Furthermore, while witnessing the implementations they could understand the limitations that applies on their teachings in a more realistic way. That will help mentioning these limitations better while teaching.

Additionally, it would be easier for students to understand the lectures taught by someone with practical experience, -because not everybody understands the esoteric language of books, which will make them ready for their future career. And most of the time the inscrutable language of academia is never used by people in profession.

While it should benefit everybody in many ways if the policy is implemented and every faculty member is required to attend practical experiences, it will also hinder the traditional way of teaching. In addition, most of the higher level faculties and students are almost all time involved in many research activities regarding the industry. So spending more time outside academia will obstruct their progress as less time will be spent. Finally in outside most of the practical scenario involves only on branch of teaching from the institutions. Spending more time on them will weaken faculties in other sectors.

So as spending enough time outside academia is beneficial to faculties and their students, while keeping track of the time they spend is necessary.