Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

There have been debates on whether universities should require their students to join international exchange programs. Some people claim that studying in foreign countries is an amazing and rewarding experience that every student must give it a try during their university life. While others argue that it may cause a heavy financial burden for some students. Although I tend to agree with the former argument more, I do agree both statements have their points.

Primarily, exchange programs make students developed fast in many aspects by letting them interact with people whose backgrounds are very different. Take myself as an example. I study in Hong Kong, and I got a chance to study in San Jose during last summer. During my exchange period, I attend many meetups and hackathons in Silicon Valley; while these activities are not very popular in Hong Kong. Different people I met in these event taught me different skills and brought me to think in different ways that I had never imagine. This experience truly broadens my horizon and make me be aware of how big this world is.

Although exchange programs lead to many advantages, not every student is able to afford it. The living expenses, flight tickets, housing and tuition fees may become a heavy financial burden. As far as I know, some of my university peers even take a loan in order to attend university. If university requires every to join the program, it is totally unfair for them. Thus, in this case, adopting the proposed recommendation would not be as advantageous as we expect.

In conclusion, although exchange programs are rewarding and worthy chances that schools should actively encourage their students to participate, universities should not include this into the graduation requirement since it is unfair for students with financial barriers.