The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Glancing back through history, one will undoubtedly notice that many remarkable changes have been sparked by people questioning authority. Indeed, questioning authority can inspire public’s awareness and contemplation on controversial issues and further incite necessary actions to improve and make changes. Therefore, as far as I am concerned, I generally agree with the statement that the well-being of societies will be enhanced if citizens question authority.

Sometimes when laws or rules are not made proper and fair, people must stand out and argue for their own rights. Take the formation of United States of America as an instance. For many years under the rule of British governments, people in the colonies are unfairly taxed and treated in a bad manner. Not until some wise people stood out and spoke load to argue for the rights they deserve, did American people start to consider themselves to be an independent entity. And it is also because of the very same questioning for authority, years later, USA was established with a different authoritative stance, forming as a democracy governed by its people.

While I mainly support the idea that it benefits society if people question authority, this is not to say that the course will always work well in any situation for every people. Take, as an instance, modern United States government, which has elected officials and well established checks and balances. As leaders are elected directly by citizens, people should be aware that these leaders will serve their constituents as a whole. As a country consists of people with different races, religions, education and profession backgrounds, government has tons of different points of view that need to be taken in to consideration. Therefore, in this case, it may not very efficient if every single individual questions and challenges every decision and every new policy, and it may eventually lead to the hindrance of progressing.

To sum up, given the reasons discussed above, we may safely come to the conclusion that most of the time it would be beneficial for society if its people question the authority in a reasonable way. One cannot achieve any social or political change without questioning authority, and certainly changes have been required in order to enhance well-beings in our history and will still be necessary in the future.