The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

In this argument, the city council suggests that all the incandescent bulbs of public buildings should be replaced by LEDs to save the city’s electric expenses. To bolster this recommendation, the city council reason that this policy should be successful since LED light is brighter and its price is not more expensive than traditional bulb. However, this reasoning is rife with unjustifiable assumptions since some critical questions are not answered in the argument.

First of all, the city council does not compare the energy efficiency between these two lights. Does LED consume less electricity than incandescent bulb? Does LED produce less heat so that public buildings do not need more air conditioners which may be another major origin of the electric expenses? It is possible that LED bulb consumes more electricity and even make the public office hotter. In this case, it is not so helpful for the city to apply this change.

In addition, the city council does not state clearly the scope of electric expenses. According to the reasoning it provides in the argument, we may safely assume that the cost of buying new LED lights and installation and maintenance fee are also included in this category. Then, we may question that does it cost less to maintain the LED lights than maintaining traditional bulbs? Is the life span of LEDs long so that the cost of purchasing is not a repetitive expense? If the city council can provide information which indicates positive answers for these questions, the argument will be more strongly strengthened.

In conclusion, despite the city council’s suggestion seems appealing, its validity is by no means well established since several critical points are still open to doubt. To further support their idea, the city council should provides statistics and proof which can show that LED is more energy-saving and thus will reduce the electric expenses. The city council also need to provide more information on the estimated cost of applying this change and maintain the LEDs to further increase the credibility of the recommendation.