Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Nowadays, there is a heated debate on whether governments should invest as much in the arts as in the military. As far as I am concerned, it should depend on the current condition of the society. Thus, I do not totally agree with this statement for the following reasons.

Primarily, many countries especially those in Middle East and Africa are still suffering in wars. In such a unstable condition, governments should spend their resource on more important stuff. It would be wise for them to invest in something that influence matters of life and death instead of something trivial such as the arts. Since if people do not even have a peaceful daily lives, worrying about meals and safety everyday, they would not care about art at all. As a consequence, applying the proposed recommendation in this case would not be as advantageous as we expect.

Although investment of art should not be the top priority for those unstable societies, for most developed countries, adopting this recommendation will lead to many advantages. Since nowadays, developed countries have little chance to get involved wars, they do not need to invest in the military that much. Learning and enjoying art makes people's lives more colorful and varied. Studies have showed that appreciating or creating arts can make aid to the quality of life by helping people manage stress, relax and improve their creativity. Art plays an important role in people's lives. And if everybody in the society all have a satisfying life, the well-being of the society as a whole will thus be enhanced. Therefore, government should invest more resource in it.

In conclusion, although not every country is able to afford investing as much resource in the arts as they do in military, governments which have such capability should actively applying this policy.