The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument the faculty committee suggests the president to provide free tuition at their university in order to enhance the morale among professors and attract new professors. To bolster this argument, the committee point out that the study conducted by a nearby university shows the policy is helpful for faculty retention. Although this recommendation seems plausible, many crucial evidences are not provided in the argument and thus the validity of the recommendation is not well established.

First of all, the committee fails to provide the details of some critical variables associated with the cited study. They do not explain who was in charged of this study, when and how the study was conducted, and how many people was involved in the survey. It is possible that this is just a students assignment and not worth trusting. Thus, we cannot draw a broad conclusion from this evidence. If the committee can provide the evidences show that it is a recent research conducted with strict judgement and a statistically significant sample scope, the credibility of the argument will be more strongly strengthened.

In addition, the committee does not provide any evidence to prove that this free-tuition policy is likely to be functional in Seatown University. they commit a fallacy by falsely assuming that the policy working in nearby university will definitely be successful in their university. However, this is not necessarily the case. For example, perhaps not many children of professors of Seatown University tends to attend the very same university, and professors do not really care about this policy. Or it is also possible that if the university apply this policy, it will not have enough budgets to fund other important projects or programs. In this case, the morale of professors will not be cheered up at all, and the argument is dramatically weakened.

To sum up, despite the committee proposes an interesting policy that may ultimately turns out working well and improve the morale of the university, we cannot conclude this simply from this argument since it is not informative and convincing enough as it stands.