The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There is no time in history that the life quality of human has improved so dramatically than the past several decades. As comtemporary life is getting more and more convenient and luxurious, some people are worried that, in this life stry, people are prvented from developing into truly strong and independent individuals. As far as I am concerned, I don't think their anxeity is superfluous, and the convenient comtemporary life actually make people grow up both physically and mentally.

People who are in favor of the prompt statement may argue that children from the latest generations are taken care by their parent too well that they do not grow up independently. Although I agree that nowadays some parents do overindulge their children, people in recent generations should be more independent overall. Because of the globalization, the job market has become fiercely competitive, and many tempting and rewarding jobs require people to leave home for a long time, settling down in a foreign country or even travelling around the world all the time. These job natures and life styles would make people experience many difficulties and force them to grow up more independently and mentally strong, while ancient people may have little chance to leave their village to have these kinds of adventures.

Primarily, with sufficient food and nutritions, people now are more healthy and stronger than those of previous generations. Take my family as an example. My parents and their siblings suffered from poverty and lack of food during their childhood; therefore, they are generally shorter than my cusins, my siblings and me. We can see, in this case, the rich modern life helps people grow stronger physically.

Some people may argue that people now do less exercise than before. Admittedly, in the generation of horse and buggy, simply by walking to schools or companies, people exercise a lot everyday. However, I do not think modern people have less work-out than ancient people. Thanks to the invention of gym and those wonderful work-out facilities, people now can keep their body fit and build muscles more efficiently. Many governments also provide sport courts where citizens can play basketball, footballs or tennis. Studies have showed that doing these sport contribute to not only our body health but also mental health by helping people managing stress and buiding social network during the game.

In conclusion, I think people are actually better developed with the wealthy and convenient contemporary life not only because we have different challenges in our generations that ancient people may not face, but also because we have more resource such as food and facilities to grow up.