People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the reasons for which the statement may or may not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

After thousands of years of development, human societies developed into a common system that now most countries in the world share: the system that citizens are willing to sacrifice some of their freedom to be ruled under a government carrying great power and dealing with huge public problems in order to make every citizen’s life better. While this system seems to be working decently, nowadays, there is still heated debate on whether people should question the rules of authority. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the statement for the following reasons.

First of all, people have the right to retrieve the power they give to those who govern them. Every human being has his or her own right of freedom; however, it is our unstated contract in human society that we give up a little bit of our freedom to form the authority and establish rules. In this case, of course people should pay attention and see if the authority use its power in the correct way.

While people who disagree with this contention may argue that if people keep raising questions and challenge for government, they would hinder the work efficiency and restrain government’s ability. However, as the proverb says, power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupt absolutely. People’s concern for every policy and decision of the authority serves as great supervision for the power. Therefore, it is obvious that citizens’ scrutiny is positive and helpful for the development of whole society since government will have less chance to abuse its power.

To sum up, given the reason discussed above, we may safely come to the conclusion that people should question the authority as long as in a reasonable way not only because it is their natural right to do so, but also these challenges and questions will urge the authority to perform better.