Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

This statement recommands schools to dissuade students from studying subjects that they are unlikely to succeed. As far as I am concerned, in this case, to measure the probability of success, schools need to know two things: the potential of the field and the ability of the student. However, often times education institutions are not able to assess these two things fairly. Thus, I do not agree with this statement.

Primarily, even schools cannot accurately predict the future of fields of studies. Take the invention of flight as an instance. Before flight really came into being, it was only the imaginary stuff in some fictions. Few people really took it serious and believed one day we would truly have this kind of machine. If we had adopted the policy proposed by the statement, schools would have actively dissuade everyone not to waste their time on inventing flight. And probably the Wright brothers would have been one of the students that are discouraged. Therefore, schools should not assert if one field really worth investigation or not since no one knows the future.

In addition, education institutions also can neither know if a student is likely to succeed in a certain field nor fairly judge a student's ability and talent. Since the major ways of assessing students' abilities in many schools are still written exams and assignments, the only thing we can know is the academic performance of students. However, the academic performance means little when it comes to succeeding in a certain fields. Take, for example, conducting biological research. To grow some plants, animals or cells, record the condition of them every few hours and collect a bunch of accurate data, researchers need to be cautious, perservance and diligence. In this case, those who are considered to be excellent base on their academic performance by schools, may not necesserily be the best researcher, vise versa.

In conclusion, since it is hard for education instuition to really make correct assessment on the possiblity of success and make useful suggestion for student, it would be wise if they just let students follow their interest and will to pursue their study.