People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This statement asserts that it is a bad idea to make a decision based on emotion and reason the decision with logic afterward. I generally agree with this argument for the following reason.

First of all, the most important factor I consider is that decision made based on emotion are likely to be influenced by reasons that have nothing to do with the pros and cons of the decision. Take interview as an instance. If the interviewer has a bad day before interviewing a candidate, he or she might decide not to admit the person if the decision is made based on the emotion. In this case, it is totally unfair if the candidate is very strong, and the decision is surely terrible.

The further reason for my view is that after the decision is made, people tends to come up with excuses to justify the decision. Let's continue with the previous example. If the interviewer start to do logical reasoning after decision is made, he or she may keep seeing the flaws of the candidate and ignore the good attributes the interviewee bear. It is human nature that people want to justify for themselves and hard to change their own idea once it is made. Therefore, logical thinking should be applied before the decision become solid.

Opponents may argue that for some cases, our feelings can help us make better decisions. Admittedly, for problems such as choosing boyfriend or girlfriend, emotion is very important since it shows if you are truly happy when you are with the person. However, many research also shows some criteria can effectively help people to find Mr. or Ms. Right. For example, if two persons have the same interests or if the life schedule are similar. Therefore, it cannot be denied that logical thinking would helps a lot on making good decisions at the first place.

To sum up, given the reasons discussed above, we may come to the conclusion that it is not wise to make a decision simply according to emotion in most scenarios, not only because this decision is likely to be driven by bias, but also because people tends to make plausible excuses for the decision if it has already made.