A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author concludes that the recalled food is not the cause of pets' ill symptoms and the pet food company does not need to further investigate on this issue. To support this conclusion, the author points out that all the chemical elements found in the food are legal materials in their test. Although this argument seems plausible at the first glance, detailed scrutiny reveals that this argument is logically flawed since it unfairly rests on some assumptions without justification.

First of all, by claiming that the tested samples prove the recalled food have no problem, the author falsely assuming that the size of samples are statistically significant and the chosen samples are representative enough for the whole. However, no evidence is stated to back this assumption. To better test the food, the company should deal with the complaints cases specially, and do a more detailed test on these sample since it is possible that only the food of these complaint cases are polluted. If the company fail to do so, the test is not informative enough to support the author's conclusion. For other recalled food, the test should also pick enough samples randomly; otherwise, the validity of the test is open to doubt.

In addition, the author unfairly assumes that the legal materials of the food are used and put together in a correct way. Although all the exist elements are approved for use, it is entirely possible that some regulations also stated the amount limit that can be use for per unit of pet food. Or it is also possible that some materials cannot be used in the food at the same time. Unless all these and other possibilities are considered and ruled out, the author cannot state that the food is not responsible for the complaints.

To sum up, despite the it may ultimately be the case that the food are totally fine and have nothing to do with those pet being ill, we cannot conclude this from the argument as it stands now since there are many logical loopholes and unproved assumptions in this statement. To further bolster the argument, further information should be provide to show that the test is conducted carefully and scientifically.