The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of this argument has based his recommendation on assumptions without in-depth evidence of research to back his suggestion been that at first instance Hamana University cannot be prototyped as similar in characteristics to Omni university firstly because they are not of the same location and might not be offering very similar degree program. For instance Omni University might be offering courses that do not need practical training while Humana University could be the direct opposite.

Although there could be a relationship between the commencement of online online programs and increase in enrollment, it isn’t clear for what reason. In a case were regular admissions are more stringent than online degree admission processes then there would be an expected rise in admissions through the online programs.

The author further maintains that the introduction of online programs to Hamana will help to increase enrollment and solve it’s budget problem without any survey that explains logically the reason for stagnant level of the student population. Perhaps due to lack of good advertisement, publicity, good reseasrch and employment of repute lectures and if so be the case the introduction of online programs will have little or no effect.

Additionally, the author’s also assumes that the decrease in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space is directly related to the increase in their online degree program which might not necessarily be so as this decrease in expenditure can be due to several factors not limited to the fact that their student enrollment has generally reduced or neglect, perhaps they have even gotten funding well enough to reduce expenditure for dormitory and class and probably recently did a thorough renovation which would reduce such expenditures.

Finally, the author’s case would have been better strengthen if he specific data on the funding nature of Omni University to be able to ascertain the inflows and outflows of the university as well as a comprehensive statistic of Omni’s students population before the introduction of the online course and after a few years of commencement.