The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities.

Some people are inclined to shape their opinion about political leaders, based on their skills and abilities. Nevertheless, it is believed that the focus needs to be shifted toward the behavior of the politicians during the challenging situations. I support the later statement and believe that the proprieties and talents of the leaders cannot unambiguously determine the greatness of their work due to the subjectivity involved in the definition of skills and abilities. In other words, the definition of "important skills", as well as the preference toward one skills over another may differ from one person to another. Thus, in order to generalize and make sure that all the leaders are judged fair, it is important to observe their actions during the challenging situations.

First of all, it is a well-known fact that the people who are faced with certain challenges have a hard time concealing their true motives. Indeed, the behavior of many politicians have corroborated the stated argument by unacceptable actions at the official events. For instance, a rapid decision of the president of Russia to cancel the transportation of goods from abroad to Georgia via Russia implied the hostile relationships between the presidents. Therefore, it is utterly significant to look at the behavior of a leader in the involved situations before forming opinion about his or her rulling abilities.

Secondly, the decisions that are made when facing complicated situations reveal the true personalities of leaders. The above-presented example not only illustrated the true interrelations between the politicians, but also demonstrated the charecter of Vladimir Putin: the hot-tempered, rebellious and austere.

Finally, the actions taken in the difficult situations demonstrate the implied skills and abilities. Whether a leader is a quick problem solver or he or she tends to panic when faced with a challenge is going to be clear once the right time has come. one may propose that this argument proposed an indirect judgment of a leader based on the aptitude and talents. However, the evaluation of these politicians would not be as rigorous without analyzing their reaction in challenging situations.