To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Some people are prone to think that the characteristics of a society are shaped by the residents of major cities. Nevertheless, it is believed that this statement does not take into consideration several important factors, that led to my disagreement with the above-stated opinion.

first of all, it has been known that the tourists’ main attractions are the beautiful alleys in famous cities, breathtaking views from the historical places and popular restaurants in the downtown area. These factors influence their decision on which cities to visit and lead to an increased number of international people in certain cities. Therefore, if the study is concentrated in specific areas, i.e. on major cities, that are considered to be hot spots for incoming tourists, the outcome of the research will not fully represent the society in a certain city.

Secondly, as an indisputable fact, the lifestyle in the major cities significantly differs from that in the smaller, village-like places. In other words, the personality and mentality of people who live in a quieter and less stressful city is not going to correspond to those of workaholic residents of big cities, who tend to lead a more stressful lifestyle. Thus, one could argue that the studies that would be necessary to make conclusions about the peculiarities of a certain society will only demonstrate the characteristics of city residents and will not be conclusive.

Regardless of the above-stated arguments, any undertaken study represents the average representative of the number of variables, that would imply that studying society in major cities could be the right approach. Indeed, if the focus is on the population of the higher than 50% of the city, i.e. the majority, then the obtained findings will refer to at least half of the country’s population.

In addition to this, the studies on different people are going to be more consistent with each other and are less likely to have outliers, if they do not take into a consideration all cities of a country. Although, such a “smoothing” of data might bias a primary focus on major cities, the accuracy of the conclusion is not expected to be significantly influenced by this bias.

Overall, it is clear that the first two arguments overweighted the benefits of undertaking studies in major cities demonstrating the importance of a detailed research of both major and minor cities, that will lead to more accurate findings.