Some people claim that you can tell whether a nation is great by looking at the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists. Others argue that the surest indicator of a great nation is, in fact, the general welfare of its entire people.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

In the course of history, it is debatable that the greatness of a nation is due to the general welfare of its people. Although it is conceded that the general welfare plays a significant role in shaping a great nation in few cases, one cannot deny the fact that the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists are the surest indicator of a great nation.

Granted, when considering the myriads of European countries, general welfare surely is a crucial factor in forming a great nation. Take the example of Sweden. For decades, Sweden government went the extra mile to ameliorate their general welfare, thus making their relative and absolute poverty rate to the lowest. By providing, maternity respite, well-programmed nursing care, old-age pensions, and other various welfare policies, Sweden enabled its citizens to have equal access to education and subsidized health care. Therefore, Sweden is clearly reputed as a great nation among many other countries.

However, even though the general welfare rendered a nation to sustain its greatness, the surest indicator of a great nation is illustrated by the successes of its rulers. To illustrate, one exemplary can be found in the story of Abraham Lincoln. As the 16th president of the United States, Lincoln implemented Emancipation Proclamation. Because of his achievement in abolishing slavery, a plethora of people was able to find their freedom and enhanced the societal human right.

Moreover, another similar example can be found in the field of science. successful inventions of scientists lead a nation to build its greatness. For instance, Thomas Edison, who developed a long-lasting light bulb, enabled countless people to afford the light bulb at a reasonable price. Clearly, because Edison contrived such a light bulb that both efficient to use and reasonable, people of his country were able to enhance their quality of life, contributing a lot to shape a great nation.

In brief, the general welfare can be an essential factor when developing a great nation. Nevertheless, as the examples shown aforementioned above prove, the surest indicator of a great nation is the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.