The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

“Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, to improve productivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the Easy Read course.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The argument makes some unwarranted assumptions in its assertion that the Easy Read course should be taken by all employees of Acme Publishing Company.

Firstly, the personnel director mentioned a person who was able to read an enormous report for a couple of hours. Here the quantity is taken as a performance indicator, but to read fast does not always mean to read perceptive and careful. Eventually, to assess the results of courses some quality measurements should be carried out. For example, if that employee would perform a good understanding of the text or would be able to retell its main idea, it could be stated that Speed-Reading Course had improved his productivity indeed.

Secondly, the example with an assistant manager is also unconvincing cause no other conditions of his career rise are mentioned. To prove the usefulness of the reading course one should find out whether other courses were taken by that manager. Nonetheless, even the argument would present such information, the link between speed reading and achieving higher career positions is obscure. Obvious, that a lot of other professional skills are required to be a good vice president.

Finally, the personnel director mentions all employees not considering that everyone has own mental and physical possibilities. Furthermore, there are a lot of factors like age or education degree which also should be taken into account. So, spreading the success of the particular persons on the rest of the employees is unfounded.

Summing up the above, it is obvious that the director has several flaws in giving a piece of advice. Here, some of the questions were discussed that answering them can help to evaluate the effectiveness of the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course.