Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented

No doubt that the main purpose and function of corporations is money-making, this is how economics works. But is this the only and one responsibility of them? Can we rebuke companies for lacking in promoting of well-being of society and environments? Such socially oriented politics would bring great benefits for companies in different ways, but probably even more important point is its long-lasting effect.

Obviously that corporations are the inherent part of our society. The source of income for them is consumers who have own attitudes and worries on different problems of nowadays such as climate change, ecology, social interactions and so on. Showing the indifference to global problems that disturb society would attract potential consumers. Not to be unsubstantiated let us consider the well-known and popular Swedish company, IKEA. Its politics and advocacy regarding ecology seems really attractive and inspiring.

Also the other integral human part of corporations is their employers. Providing good conditions will stimulate them to work and increase their productivity what consequently results in greater profits for company. Such a humanistic approach will be appealing for potential employers and inevitably lead to expanding of corporation. Different benefits such as health insurance, different teaching programs, and of course food supply during workday and amazing corporative holidays will leave nobody indifferent. Who would not like to work in Google with its infinite coffee and cheerful office design?

Taking this purely capitalistic standpoint and caring just of incomes for corporations seems logic from the economic point of view. But from the social one it is sounds like “After us, the deluge”. Companies have a huge human constituent so promoting the well-being of the society and environment will bring the long-term benefits as it was shown above.