To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author of the statement claims that the most important characteristics of society could be recognized by studying the major cities. I definitely disagree with this claim and there are some reasons supporting my position.

Let us consider just one country, not a whole world with its variety of cultures. We can take a big country like Russia as an axample. it is spread in geographycal terms and its population consists of many nationalities. Obviously, that they differ so far because of numerous reasons, probably, the simplest one is climate which people live in. It is not a secret to anyone that nothern people are far more depressive and sullen, because of cold and lack of light compared to cheerful and positive southern nations. Of course this rule works not only with Russia: it is easy to compare people in the USA's California and Alaska or nations of sunny Meditterian countries and gloomy Scandinavian people. And also we should keep in mind that the majority of the world population live in southern warm countries, though such important and industrial cities like New York, Washingtone, Ottawa, Moscow, London and many other European capitals are located at higher latitudes! Consequently, if one study only these major cities he or she will obtain limited view regarding people's characteristics.

But geographical location is not the one and only fact that undermines the statement above. It is important to understand the relative number of people. For instance, about ten million people live and work in Moscow and no doubt this is more than population of small town in Siberia. But what if one compare the number of people in even several Russian major cities like Kazan, Saint Petersburg, etc., to the remaining population in Russia? Yes, the majority of Russian people live in small towns and it is likely that such a situation is not only in Russia. No need to say that habits, lifestyle and values of people living in small and big cities can dramatically differ.

Summing up the above, here comes the conclusion that understanding the most important characteristics of a society damands investigation of different cities not only major ones. Numerous factors can affect the population and all of them should be taken upon consideration.