An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Evidently that the following argument is flawed for several reasons. The key problem is the fact of the Tagus people’s poverty, but promoting the new millet variety demands much investments. It can be concluded that most of population suffering from vitamin A deficiency won’t be able to afford this type of goods.

Argument directly says that new seeds costs more and furthermore government is going to pay subsidies to farmers. Likely that these nuances will result in higher cost of final product. Eventually, nobody can assure that Tagus people could buy the new sort of millet even the old one is a staple food. Had the argument provide information regarding incomes in Tagus to assess the probability that population could substitute the old millet with the new one. Even then, if any discounts will be offered that would increase chances for changes in people’s nutrition.

The last sentence of argument implies investments in promoting which is also can affect the final cost of millet. Analogically to the previous paragraph, some information about material condition of Tagus population should be presented.

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that the new variety of millet is similar to the old one. So even if we assume that some of their physical properties like taste would be identical that people will agree to consume the new millet, the argument is still lacking. It does not provide guarantees that the new variety of millet will settle down in Tagus conditions in general. Argument should give some data about necessary conditions and existing ones for planting new sort of millet to be sure that local farmers will manage to farmer this plant.

Summarizing the above, it was presented that the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, so it fails to make a convincing case that vitamin A deficiency of Tagus population will be combated.