Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Supporting scientific researches only with definite and clear consequences governments will impede the development of probably the most promising investigations.

In the beginning, it should be mentioned that science can be divided into two main types: applied science and fundamental one. And the latter is defined by researches the results of which do not and must not contain obvious practical benefits. So, a lot of disciplines in humanities will suffer in case if the recommendation would be adopted. And whoever knows what philosophers do?

A good friend of mine is a mathematician, so he told me about small groups of scientists who have been working at mathematical theories that seem inapplicable to anything real nowadays. Probably, at the moment we can consider those people a bit crazy, but in the future, such a mathematical apparatus can turn out especially useful and convenient for many purposes. Who knows! If the government does not support them now we can lose a lot in the future.

Let us change the direction to more practical and realistic science as physics. The brilliant and telling example from history is the discovery of electromagnetic induction by Faraday. When asked “What good is it?” he replied: “What good is a newborn baby?”. Can anybody imagine modern life without electricity? Or let us come back to the present time and the recent detections of gravitational waves. For example, I cannot name any potential benefits this discovery gives for a regular population, but no doubt, it is an immense step forward in theoretical physics opening a lot of new possibilities and solving old problems.

Of course, I am not calling for funding every project because some of the researches are part of pseudoscience like astrology. To be sure in scientists' intentions a reliable committee should be organized that helps the government in making decisions. But as I exemplified earlier the rigid adoption of the recommendation can cause dramatic consequences for science.