Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions should encourage students to be intelligent in different aspects, consequently, I do not agree with the stated claim in general. Who are those people deciding if any student will be successful or not in any particular area? And what are the main indicators of possible failure or success? It is well-known that history is abundant in examples of unprepossessing persons who have become outstanding in the future. Albert Einstein, who is one of the most luminant scientists of all the times, hardly could be named as a diligent student at his time, this is a well-known fact.

There could be numerous reasons why a particular student seems unlikely to have great success in some field of study. For instance, it could be a lack of interest because of a boring professor with abstruse lectures. I think that special interest and excitement are very important in self-motivation for studying. Probably, a student could not even imagine that some subjects would be so interesting and enthralling. And everybody knows that it is better to try and not to succeed than not to try and then to regret about possible success. But sometimes failure can be so disgusting that a person would never believe in his or her future success in any other beginnings. Probably, the educational institutions should protect their students from obvious and inevitable failures, not from trying to test themselves in something new.

In some extreme situations, i.e., economics failure in the country, a person will be able to find another workplace if he or she has abundant and different skills. Eventually, the broader knowledge and experience in different areas of life, the better student understands own future possibilities in career. But of course, there should be some limits in investigating various fields of study because a student could not come to any decision regarding his or her profession. In the end, a good specialist is one who expounds his or her knowledge in depth, not in width.

It is a difficult burden for educational institutes both to graduate confident students ready to conquer this world and at the same time not to restrain them in investigating different aspects and possibilities of their lives. In the end, it looks like a task for a good mother who wants her baby to be safe and not to be damaged, but who also wants not to be limiting and inhibitory as well.