The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

“A recent study rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. On the basis of this study, we recommend that businesses hire only people who need less than six hours of sleep per night.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument is failing to make a convincing case assuming that companies should hire only people whose needs do not exceed six hours of sleep per night. Some additional information is required to evaluate the success of such a recommendation.

Probably, the greatest flaw of the research is its narrow variance of considered professions. Only employers from advertising firms have been studied, but the recommendation is given to a wide spectrum of businesses. Consequently, many more professions should be compared because they involve different types of activity which, in its turn, can be represented in numerous fractions. There can be more duties that require physical activity than intellectual ones, eventually, the number of sleeping hours can differ dramatically in this case.

Moreover, the argument does not provide any information regarding the number of working hours in the company. Probably, it can be assumed that all companies have almost the same working time, but it is no secret that a lot of people have to stay even further to finish their work, especially this kind of situation can be observed in the vicinity of deadlines. So, the factual number of working hours should be taken into consideration.

In the end, the argument is lacking in information about executives. Adding some information about the employers' average age can clear the situation: younger people may be more energized and enthusiastic, at the same time the older employer may have greater experience in the firm. Marital status also is an important factor: obviously, the employers with little children have more duties, so their level of tiredness is higher as well as sleeping needs.

The recommendation is given based on unwarranted assumptions that make it vulnerable from different points of view. Several questions were performed above, and answering them will make the research more precise and reliable.