The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

“Last week, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The presented argument includes several unwarranted assumptions that make its predictions unconvincing. The full absence of data regarding the actual water using makes it impossible to compare levels of water consumption. Even had the argument provided such kind of information it can hardly be extrapolated for prediction of future usage.

The next argument flaw is that the prediction for the whole apartment complex consisting of twelve buildings is carried out on observations after only three of them. So we know nothing about buildings, for example, about their sizes, because they can be larger or smaller which can influence the total amount of water consumed.

It is mentioned that the company must pay for water each month, but modifying showerheads was done only one week ago. Consequently, Sunnyside Corporation should wait at least for a month to say something confidently about final water usage.

Furthermore, the owner tries to compare the flow of water and its total volume, but these variables have different dimensions. Eventually, the assumption has an obvious physical mistake. Flow can be expressed in terms of volume divided by square and time. So even the decreased flow can give the same amount of consumed water, and the payment is made for volume, not for flow. For example, people complaining about low water pressure now can take shower for a longer time what again leads to the previous volume of consumed water.

Summarizing the above, it was presented that the Sunnyside Corporation makes several unwarranted assumptions. So it fails to make a convincing case that carried out modifications of showerheads will increase the further company's profits. To be more confident in predictions, it is necessary to evaluate discussed flaws.