A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The national curriculum should be quite uniform but include some specifications and preferable subjects depending on plans.

No doubt that everybody should have basic knowledge in every field of art and science, but I think that school students focusing on their primary interests is also important especially during the latest years of the school. If the school education program is absolutely the same for everyone it would make trouble for students in the future. For example, many natural sciences require good ground in such disciplines as mathematics and physics. Consequently, the limitations of advanced courses in school will result in studying them in college in addition to the other new courses. As for me, it looks like a waste of time.

Furthermore, the impending studying of specialties in school can result in students' unawareness of their real interests and possibilities. Most of the subjects look attractive and exciting at first glance, but during the more detailed investigation, some particular areas of science can be found difficult, uninteresting or even revolting. So the acceptance of the uniform national curriculum can limit the view on the real state of affairs in certain fields.

But sometimes preferable courses can take all the student attention and resources, that he or she will have huge gaps in other disciplines. Unfortunately, such a sad situation can be seen in Russia due to the current form of graduate attestation. A student is ought to choose some special subjects which he or she will take of. So most people forget about general courses or consider them negligible that do not deserve attention. Eventually, after a school person can have commendable knowledge in a few disciplines and at the same time, he or she can be an absolute ignoramus in the other areas. But several decades ago, in USSR, all the graduates should pass a certain set of exams including a variety of subjects independent of future student intentions.

I think, if someone wants to be considered as an intelligent person, he or she should have fundamentals in many of the disciplines. Consequently, if a nation wants to have potential and knowledgable young people it should be encouraging the uniform education but be plausible enough to allow students to develop in some preferable direction at the same time.