The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument is flawing in its attempt to provide a convincing case that prohibiting skateboarding in Central Plaza would return the business to its high level that took place in the past.

Firstly, the store owner unwarrantedly prescribes the increased amount of litter and vandalism to the group of skateboarders. For example, it is well-known, that litter can be brought by local animals who find food supplement in big trashes which are often placed next to shopping malls. Some pieces of evidence like video records should be presented to prove that assertion.

Secondly, the author of the argument attempts to compare business levels for different years for which the economy and, consequently, the financial state of affairs of the population could differ significantly. Eventually, some information about prices in shops or the population’s incomes should be presented. Maybe some of the shops' owners increased the prices of their goods that had made them unaffordable for shoppers. Such economic issues should be overseen, in other cases, no one could conclude that skateboarders caused the decrease of business in Central Plaza.

And finally, the argument contains no information about other shopping centers available for ex-shoppers of Plaza. Probably, during two years any other malls appeared in the nearby vicinity that have advantages appealing population, for example, free and big parking, playrooms for kids or wealth food court. If it is true, the store owners of Central Plaza should analyze features of concurrent shopping centers and make some improvements that would be able to return their shoppers.

Summing up the above, reasons of different origin can explain the decrease in business affairs of Central Plaza. Answering the presented question can help shop owners to evaluate the recommendation and to give a more convincing assumption.