In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument is flawing in its claim regarding highway safety in Prunty County. Necessary evidence should be presented to say something confident about the positive results of the policy taken place in Butler County.

Two counties are compared unwarrantedly that no reliable predictions can be made. For example, some additional information about mode drivers' age can make the situation a bit clearer: it looks sane that elder people drive more carefully. Had the argument provide such kind of information, it is still lacking in evidence of the driving experience of the population. It can be assumed, that people of Butler County have been driving for a longer period in general, eventually, they can be more attentive on the road.

The next argument flaw is the utter absence of data about the counties' landscapes which can differ dramatically, and such a factor also makes a difference. If Prunty County is located in a mountain region with serpentine and dangerous roads full of steep turns and, in its turn, Butler County is a plain territory with excellent visibility at every piece of the road, no doubt, that undertaking of the presented improvements will be futile.

The geographic position can also result in the climate inequality of counties. For example, the consideration of such factors as an annual number of rainy or snowy days, duration of cold periods characterized by ice cover on the roads, etc., would lead to more accurate predictions on the results of forthcoming improvements.

Unfortunately, the argument fails to make a convincing case regarding undertaking a policy of road safety due to unwarranted assumptions of similarity between two counties. A lot of factors can influence future results that had been exactly shown in this essay.