Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a “Palean” basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The presented argument is flawing in its claim that Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean, so the evidence is needed to gainsay or support the idea that Palean people could not cross the Brim River.

If there is no evidence of Palean boats it can be concluded that people did not need them to cross the river. For example, the direction of the river flow differed from the contemporary one. Or maybe there were some especially dry years when the river had become shallower that Palean people managed to cross the river just on foot. The author of the argument should present some specifying information about climate changes.

Furthermore, climate changes could be not only long-termed like many years draughts. The argument is lacking for any general information about the Palea environment or geographical location. Let us assume that it is a quite nothern village where severe cold winters are a natural phenomenon. Consequently, these extremely low temperatures cause the Brim river to freeze and be covered with a layer of thin ice save enough to cross the river. So it is necessary to provide sufficient data about temperature changes during the year as short-term climate changes compared to presented drought in the previous paragraph.

Probably, most of us are familiar with other ways to cross the river except simple boats. For instance, it could be just a log big and long enough to be stable for carrying people on it. After crossing the river those logs could be burnt. Moreover, there is mentioned in the argument that Palean people had been prehistoric, and eventually, there are no reasons to assert that the population of Palea was able to construct boats. It can be stated that the claim about boat building is weak and requires any additional information about Palean's skills in crafts.

To sum up the above, it was presented that the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, so it fails to make a convincing case that Palean people had no opportunity to cross the river. Only one opportunity was reviewed which is lacking in verifying evidence.