"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers

complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be.

Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet

available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside

Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few

complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported

since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow

throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits

even more dramatically."

In the letter, it is argued that all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers should be modified to restrict maximum water flow in order to reduce water usage and family’s spending on the water. Although, according to one of the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment, there was a few complaints and this proposal indeed realize its initial purpose, some questions should be asked about whether the water can be reduced, the cost of modification and its effect on the potential business if the proposal can increase their profits.

First and foremost, we need to know the precise number of the saved water. We have the collect the number of water usage both before and after the modification to determine whether water usage is decreased instead of simply imaging the results. It is because of the fact that although the water flow come out of the showerheads has been reduced to one-third, people will tend to spend more time taking shower due to the reduced water supply per minute. Thus, the total water usage every bath time may not change at all and one of the purpose’s initial dream that saving water can’t be reached. So more detailed information should be required to evaluate this proposal.

In addition, the second question is the cost of modifying the showerheads. It is obvious that a lot of workers and labors will be hired to install these showerheads which is a great deal of money. Besides, the cost the showerheads also cost a lot. To some extent, the buildings’ water may have to be redesigned to parallel the reduced water flows. For instance, thanks to the reduced water flows, some money can be saved to support these modifications, but if the cost of hiring workers and other things exceed the reduced money, it will be impossible for the proposal to realize the purpose of saving money. More information about the cost of modification should be collected to rate the proposal.

Finally, these changes on water flow may discourage some potential tenants. There may be some people that they hate the reduced water flow during showing because it will reduce the pleasure of taking a shower. While making the modifications, a lot of noise will be made and residents’ life qualities will be greatly reduced. Some residents may feel that they can no longer bear these interferences and move out of these buildings. All of these possibilities will do great harm to the company’s profits.

In a nutshell, while it is understandable that the company tried to save money be restricting the water flows, more questions mentioned above should be answered to find out whether the proposal can actually help the company realize the dream of making more profits.