The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries

Throughout human history, great figures are celebrated for their enormous achievements in various field such as politic, art, science, etc. Some people argue that whether a specific individual is great or not can be determined by his/her contemporaries instead of those who live after them. From my perspective, people’s greatness should be determined by their decedents rather than the contemporaries. I will present my point of view from the fields of politic, art and science.

First and foremost, the political workers’ greatness should be determined be their decedents. As for political makers, it is obviously impossible to know whether the policies they regulated are truly effective or not. It is because of the fact that it usually takes a policy maybe some decades to show its merits and demerits. Besides, it is also difficult to know whether a political leader is a decent and flawless person. For example, the previous United States president Nixon, we cannot reach an agreement what kind of people he is until the Water Gate happened. Thus, if we ask a contemporary of Nixon to decide his greatness, it is uneasy to arrive at the correct answer. On the contrary, the people who live after Nixon can get a better answer of the decision of his greatness.

In addition, as for the artists, the condition is the same as for the political leaders. It is obvious that people’s sense of beauty and their ability to appreciating the aesthetic are changing with the path of the era. Thus, if an artist whose style is beyond his/her contemporaries’ abilities of appreciation, this artist’s masterpiece cannot be accepted by people at that era. Accordingly, this artist’s greatness can also not be recognized and he/she may die in a lonely period when this artist is old. For instance, Vincent van Gogh is definitely one of the greatest artists through the human history. However, his pieces of work were not accepted by the people of his era. Only one of his painting was sold when he was still alive. After his death, the value, of course his masterpieces are valueless, of his works was becoming emphasized.

Finally, scientist should be valued by their decedents. For example, DDT is a widely used pesticide in 1900s because of high efficiency of killing the harmful insects. Thus, the chemist who invented this compound won the Nobel Prize for Chemistry. However, after several years of implementing this kind if pesticide, the farmers found that this pesticide is so detrimental that it could also do harm to the local river which people usually drank and washed clothes and could interfere the plants growth in the bad way. Because of that reason, DDT is no longer being used any more. As for the scientist who invented it, he must earn numerous honors and was appreciated by his peers. However, we, people who lived after his death, think the opposite the way.

In a nutshell, according to the reason I give above, people from the area of politic, art and science should be evaluated by the people live after them about their greatness. Also, people of other areas should also be valued by their decedents to ensure fairness.