"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

According to the author of the letter, the production of milk has increased a lot since the past decade, while the prices of the milk raised from $1.5 to $3.0. Thus, the author argues that the Batavia should restrict the milk prices to reduce the excessive profits of the farmers. Nevertheless, some questions, concerning the cost of milk production, who raise the milk prices and the inflation, should be asked in order to evaluate the proposal.

First and foremost, the reason why farmers raised the prices is that the cost of milk production has increased. In modern milk production, we use some machines to produce milk from the cows instead of by workers hands. In order to buy this kind of high-tech machines, the farmers usually spend a lot of money on this, which may lead to the increased cost of milk production. Besides, the prices of cows may also increase.

In addition, there is possibility that it is not the farmers that raise the prices of the milk. Maybe the managers from the Excello Food Market raised the prices in order to seek more profits. They find that milk is of utmost importance of people’s daily lives and is indispensable, people will not stop buying the milk even if they raise prices. Accordingly, the managers decided to raise the prices because even if they raise money, the consumption of the milk will not decrease.

Furthermore, it may be the inflation that cause the raised prices. In the past decades, it is obvious that the prices of almost everything have experienced a huge raise from daily necessities like food to real estates. Thus, the farmers followed the trend of inflation by raising the price of milk in order not to reduce the profits. In the era of inflation, if the farmers do not increase the prices, the profits will become increasingly smaller and finally they can no longer to make a living on farming the cows and producing the milk.

In a nutshell, despite the decent intention of the author of the letter, several questions should be asked about why farmers raised the prices and who actually raised the prices in order to correctly evaluate the proposal of restrict the farmers’ profits.