People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole

Someone holds the opinion that people’s attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole. From my perspective, our attitudes are fundamentally shaped by our society through education, media and government policies and also determined the situations and surroundings in which we find ourselves.

Education is an important part of the society which determine our attitudes toward different matters surrounding us. Take the simple example of priority seats in public transportations. As a university student, we learn the social etiquette of offering the seats to those in need, for example, the pregnant, sick passenger, etc. Such practices are encouraged in the school based on a golden rule: treat the people the way you want to be treated. Our attitudes toward the fellow passenger are shaped by this rule through the education. Meanwhile, the society would also make sure our environment reflects the same principles that is consistent in our mind. For example, the priority seats are usually marked with signals to remind us of such etiquette.

In addition, our attitudes are also shaped by the social media that we are continuing encountering with. Through the excessive advertisements from everywhere around us, we are brainwashed that we are in need of those luxurious products. We come to believe that it is these extravagant goods that determine our values as human beings. Meanwhile, the society would shape the environment in the way that shopping will become much more convenient. For instance, through some shopping platform like Amazon and eBay, we have no longer to go out of our home and go to the shopping malls to buy some goods. Instead, we can just stay at home and wait the products we buy on the Internet to mail to us. Such arrangement, along with the advertisements and promotion in the media, reinforces the attitudes we hold toward the society.

Finally, the society also determine our attitudes through the government policies. In the past few decades, gay marriages have become increasingly acceptable in our society. It mat possibly due to the fact that most government adopts the policies of allowing homosexual marriages. At the same time, the change in government policies also stimulate the manufacturing of gay romance and wedding. New products are becoming available for homosexual couples to celebrate their anniversaries and weddings.

In a nutshell, I disagree with the idea that our attitudes are determined by our immediate situations or surroundings. On the contrary, our attitudes are shaped through education, media and government policies.