Claim: While boredom is often expressed with a sense of self-satisfaction, it should really be a source of embarrassment.

Reason: Boredom arises from a lack of imagination and self-motivation.

7. The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location

for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all

subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing

the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census

indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to

attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

98. The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its

reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination

bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own

in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a

significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By

replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from

Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

99. The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.