The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is dazzling to just look at some of the cutting-edge products and facilities. This develoment the of civilization, at least in a material aspect, altered the contmemporians’ way of living significantly differentiated from the people of the past. Although this change have had a salubrious effect on many respects, people became less hardy and independent.

Granted, it is evident that the conveniences of current life style allowed more free time to think about the themselves and chance to select their jobs nearly indefinitely. If the people properly find who themselves are and pioneer their way of living, these people would be strong and independent individuals. Take an example of the Youtubers today. They do what they want to and even make a living by doing so. In the past, such a thing couldn’t happen. They must have a few choices like a to become a farmer, merchants, and technicians. However, with the affluence of current society, society could allow those guys do whatever they prefer. These guys could feel self-satisfaction and because they follow the path they like, they feel more happy and therefore more healthy mentally or even physically.

However, it is entirely different story to those who fail to find true selves of them and get a career they want. Unlike the previous people, these guys could suffer from depression and even commit a suicide. This is because someone who could not find the true meaning of their lives will suffer from adverse mental problems. The people in the middle ages did not often face that kind of problem. They usually got a job according to the classes they belong or just follow the path of the ancestors. Unlike them, the contemporians suffer from self-recognition problem and even though someone finds the true self of him, there are still left plagues. To become what they want, they would be stressed by the competition. Even worse, if they became the loser of the competition, they could feel the bitterness of the defeat throughout their lives, making the mental illness like depression occur.